Tamales

All wrapped up

 What looks like a suman, has the texture of jello, is basically a meal with chicken, eggs and rice but is totally different? TAMALES. Filipino, or specifically, Kapampangan Tamales.

I know that there are different kinds of tamales all over, and the other I know is the Mexican tamale (I watch Bobby Flay too much, apparently).

Topped with egg, chicken and what have you's 🙂

 But this is the only one I have tasted and looking at the pictures, i don’t find it appetizing, but I know that one little bite of it and I want more. 🙂 Mom says it’s easy to make, I doubt it since the simplest things are the most difficult to make. It’s supposed to be ground rice with coconut, then topped with the same mixture but with a natural food coloring along with pepper, cooked salted egg and flaked chicken. This is then wrapped in so many banana leaves, then steamed.

The taste? It is like jello, or maja blanca for those who know what maja blanca is. The orangey part is yummier, gooey-er, and the meat and egg adds a layer of surprise. I shouldn’t have just bought one… Argh.

3 thoughts on “Tamales

    1. In Sidcor 🙂 But there’s one manong that actually stands every weekend in ATC which is much more accessible for me 🙂 We buy from him regularly. But it costs P70 from him, and this one from Sidcor is only P50!

Leave a comment