Coconut Macaroon Truffles

Coconut and cocoa
Coconut and cocoa

I could have easily said that this is a custaroon since, it is, after all, copied from the local creator of that. But then, I haven’t tried that. I have tried their custaroon truffle. And besides the fact that the word custaroon keeps on underlining with red squiggles on my computer, I prefer to coin my own: macaroon truffle. 🙂 It sounds elegant. Really. And the fact that it is so simple to make boggles the mind on how expensive the pricing for the custaroons are. 😛 but then, they really have a nice packaging for that sort of thing, so maybe it’s that 🙂

This is more like a soft serve leche flan. With desiccated coconut. This is how I thought it tasted like when someone from the office made me try it. I quickly googled a thick custard recipe, adjusted some stuff to my liking, and armed with my tiniest scooper, I trudged on.

Up close
Up close

Cook like the recipe here (except for the changes I made)

Coconut Macaroon Truffle Recipe

1 big can of Alpine evaporated milk
2/3 can of Milkmaid condensed milk
3 eggs
4 tablespoons of cornstarch
vanilla
1/2 pack of desiccated coconut

Follow instruction in linked recipe above, but discarding the sugar and replacing it with condensed milk. Then once the custard is cooked, use a spatula and add the coconut to taste. Scoop with a small ice cream scoop and plop each one in either more coconut or cocoa 🙂 Keep in the fridge 😀

PS. Update on my homemade chili oil. Tried using it only now (you shall see the blog post soon) and it was amazing! I didn’t expect it to pack so much heat! 🙂

Leave a comment