Chicken Afritada (Chicken Stewed in Tomato Sauce)

Chicken and potatoes

Soooooooooo. I really didn’t want to blog about this since it was a failure for me. (I’m just human, after all.) This wasn’t even supposed to a chicken afritada. It was supposed to be the chicken version of this one, pollo con guisantes, but it failed, so I had to redo 🙂

It started out the same. And it was only in the tasting that it tasted differently. IT WAS TOO SALTY. The chicken was already seasoned with salt and pepper cuz it was originally prepared for fried chicken. I thought that it wouldn’t be THAT salty, so I still added fish sauce. And it went downhill from there.

with greenpeas too 🙂

I added water to make it less salty, and even opted to add a bit of sugar and vinegar to cut the salt. But it just wouldn’t go away. And it was almost beginning to like a previous recipe, but ugly. Hahaha 🙂 So I decided to add tomato sauce powdered mix. I added and added until it was decent to eat. But it ended up being to saucy, and resembled the local dish of chicken afritada, which is chicken cooked in tomato sauce. Boooooo. I didn’t like it. FAIL. I know the pictures still look good, but now that’s just art. Hahaha 🙂

One thought on “Chicken Afritada (Chicken Stewed in Tomato Sauce)

Leave a comment